Agar Agar FAQ

Where does agar come from?

Gelidium grows in the Atlantic Ocean along the Northern Coast of Spain, locally known as Cantabrian Sea and is considered to be amongst the most suitable raw material for the manufacture of high purity Agar-Agar.

Gracilaria can be found in different places such us Morocco, Chile, Indonesia, China and other countries.

245.jpg

Agar flakes vs powder

fake and powder are two forms of Agar, different use has different area uses, some like flake, some like powder.

Is Agar agar gluten free?

Yes, Agar agar is gluten free.

Difference between gelatin and agar agar

Source difference

Agar agar is a hydrocolloid extracted from red algae such as Gracilaria and Gelidiume from sea and it is Vegan.

Gelatin is a colorless and odorless substance that is extracted from animal skin and bones.

Gel temperature

Gelatin needs refrigeration to set and will melt at warm temperature.

Agar agar gel set at room temperature and the melting point at the temperature 85.

Difference between agar and Agar agar

Agar is also called Agar agar, they are same.